Parish People

Ms S Read, 11 The Green, Somerleyton, Lowestoft, Suffolk, NR32 5PX

12 Parish Councillors are elected for a four year term.  The last election was in May 2019 when 10 Parish Councillors were elected; 2 additional Parish Councillors were then co-opted.  Since then we’ve lost 5 Parish Councillors and a further 4 have been co-opted; there is a vacancy for one Parish Councillor at this time (February 2022).

Current Parish Councillors are:

Damien Ainslie, 8 Marsh Lane, Somerleyton 731037
Claire Diggins, 1 Pond Cottages, Somerleyton 730762
Jamie Foster, Pond Farm, Herringfleet 01493 488165
Gerda Gibbs (Vice Chairman), Common Cottage, Somerleyton 732200
Julia Griffith,
The White House, The Street, Somerleyton 731343
Paul Johnson, Glebe House, The Common, Somerleyton 734904
Ron Lindsay,
Jernigan, The Street, Somerleyton 732004
Neil Livingstone (Chairman), Crown House, The Street, Somerleyton 730610
Simon Phillips, 1 Station Cottages, Somerleyton 731795
Chris Reynolds, 5 Marsh Lane, Somerleyton 730120
Bob Wild, 8 Morton Peto Close, Somerleyton 731469

Planning Committee: Simon Phillips, Bob Wild (Chairman), Chris Reynolds, Claire Diggins, Ron Lindsay & Paul Johnson

Environment & Green Matters
Parish Councillors Gerda Gibbs, Lucy Housman, Jamie Foster & Bob Wild
Information & Advice Parish Councillors Chris Reynolds & Simon Phillips
Defibrillator  Parish Councillors Claire Diggins & Gerda Gibbs
Community Shop  Parish Councillors Ron Lindsay & Paul Johnson

Trustees appointed to the following bodies by the Parish Council:
Somerleyton Award Charity & Poors & Anguish’s Charity:  Julie Reynolds, Sue Read & David Cook
Somerleyton Community Association:   David Cook

In order that Parish Councils may be seen to be transparent in their decisions Parish Councillors are required to register their pecuniary interests with the District Council and to declare these interests at Parish Council meetings when subjects which may have some bearing on those interests are discussed.  East Suffolk Council maintains an online register of the declared interests of Parish Councillors which may be viewed here  (note that our parish is called Somerleyton Ashby & Herringfleet on this website).